New Album Out on New West Records, In Stores September 25th

New York, NY. After an extremely rare three year break from recording, Grammy® Award winner Steve Earle is back, with Washington Square Serenade, an album of new music out September 25th, his first for New West Records. The longtime Nashville (via Texas) resident, Earle has called New York City home for the past year and this will be his first release produced in the city. Recorded at New York’s legendary Electric Lady Studios, the introspective album, inspired by NYC, is Earle’s first produced by John King of The Dust Brothers (Beck, The Rolling Stones, Beastie Boys). A deluxe CD/DVD version will be available with bonus artwork, plus an exclusive documentary about the inspiration behind “Washington Square Serenade,” including a walking tour of Greenwich Village with Steve and noted journalist Mark Jacobson (New York Magazine). The album will also be available as a Limited Edition 180 gram vinyl record.

“Tennessee Blues,” the first song on Washington Square Serenade, brings Earle full circle as he sings about leaving the “Guitar Town” he first wrote about 20 years ago. The album celebrates New York City’s diversity with “City Of Immigrants,” featuring the band Forro In The Dark, who bring their style of traditional Brazilian Forro music to the song. Earle’s wife, singer-songwriter Allison Moorer, joins him on the tender duet “Days Aren’t Long Enough,” which they co-wrote.

In addition to recording and preparing for live shows, which already include performances at Bumbershoot in Seattle and the Austin City Limits Festival in Austin, Earle will appear in his recurring role as “Waylon” in the final season of HBO’s distinguished series, The Wire. Earle has also recorded a new version of the Tom Waits classic, “Way Down In The Hole” as the series theme song; which will also be included on Washington Square Serenade. Additionally, Earle hosts the The Steve Earle Show: Hard Core Troubadour Radio on Outlaw Country, SIRIUS Satellite Radio Outlaw Country channel 63. The one-hour show features Earle’s personal music selections and special guest interviews. The Steve Earle Show: Hard Core Troubadour Radio airs Saturday evenings at 8pm and is rebroadcast Sundays at 1am and 9am and Monday nights at midnight (all times Eastern.) Never one to approach complacency, Earle is currently writing his first novel for the Houghton Mifflin publishing company.

A protégé of legendary songwriters Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, Earle quickly became a master storyteller in his own right, with his songs being recorded by Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Jennings, Travis Tritt, The Pretenders, Joan Baez and countless others. 1986 saw the release of his debut record, Guitar Town, which shot to number one on the country charts and immediately established the term “New Country.” What followed was an extremely exciting and varied array of eleven releases including the biting hard rock of Copperhead Road (1988), the minimalist beauty and perfection of Train A Comin’ (1995) as well as the politically charged masterpieces, Jerusalem (2002) and Grammy® Award winning The Revolution Starts Now (2004).


1. Tennessee Blues
2. Down Here Below
3. Satellite Radio
4. City Of Immigrants
5. Sparkle And Shine
6. Come Home to Me
7. Jericho Road
8. Oxycontin Blues
9. Red Is The Color
10. Steve’s Hammer (For Pete)
11. Day’s Aren’t Long Enough
12. Way Down In The Hole

Steve Earle will be touring in support of Washington Square Serenade with tour dates announced shortly.

[from the Orlando Sentinel]